New Year, New…SAME Me

The new year, new me mantra has never worked for me. I’ve made resolutions every new year and stuck by them for a week or two, if I did very good then maybe a month. Somehow I never saw them through and I hear from almost everyone that it works like that for them too. Why? Because we don’t magically wake up on January first as a brand new person.

This year I decided to do something completely different. I didn’t make any resolutions. Instead, I made goals. I made a few bigger goals and then I made smaller goals that will help me achieve the bigger ones. That way every time I achieve a small goal it will motivate me to take the next step and the next one and so on. I don’t know about you but achieving small goals motivates me so much!

For example, one of my bigger goals is to grow closer to God. The smaller ones I made that will help me achieve this are to spend time with Him every day, listen to a message every week, maybe even twice a week. You can never hear too much about the Word of God.

Another big goal I have is health related. I want to feel my absolute best. To do that the smaller goals are to eat better and exercise more. Focus on small things that will keep you going instead of just one huge goal that will keep reminding you of where you still aren’t. If you’re shooting for losing weight, set a goal weight that you want to get to and then focus on 2 pounds at a time. It’s a lot more encouraging this way! However, it’s not about being what society thinks of size and the weight! It’s about being healthy, never forget that!!

That being said, if you made resolutions I wish you the best of luck! I think resolutions are great, especially if you can stick with them. I just know that they’ve never worked for me and by the middle of January I usually felt like a failure and did the complete opposite of what I had planned before the new year hit.

I want to encourage you to make smaller goals, resolutions if you will, that will help get you where you want to go. Do whatever works best for you and don’t give up! Cheers to you achieving your goals and happy new year! Wishing everyone the absolute best for this year!

Leave a comment